Australia vs Zimbabwe: Marnus Labuschagne drops out as hosts opt for all-rounders in 1st ODI | Cricket News


Skipper Aaron Finch said on Saturday that Australia plans to test a new structure that will offer more stroke depth and more bowling options in their opening ODI against Zimbabwe, which dropped Marnus Labuschagne. Australia will play three one-day games against Zimbabwe in the northern Queensland city of Townsville from Sunday, followed by three against New Zealand in Cairns from September 6.

Finch confirmed an almost full strength, with the hosts welcoming a number of players absent from their last game in Sri Lanka in June.

So does spinner Adam Zampa, who missed the tour due to the birth of his first child.

See also  India vs Australia - "This is where MS was so good": Ravi Shastri after Team India fails to spot Cameron Green's LBW opportunity | Cricket News

But Test’s tough Marnus Labuschagne was left out of the first game as Australia shook up the batting lineup.

Finch told that Alex Carey would be elevated to number four, with Steve Smith filling in Labuschagne’s number three and Mitch Marsh sliding from three to six.

“The reasoning behind Marnus (miss) is that we’re just going for an all-rounder heavy side,” he said.

“Two quicks plus Zampa and Cameron Green as the fourth real bowler. And then effectively using Marsh, (Marcus) Stoinis, (Glen) Maxwell as our fifth bowler.

See also  IND vs AUS 3rd T20I live streaming: When and where to watch India vs Australia match in India

“It’s a way to extend our clout and I think it’s important that we keep trying to juggle the structure of the team a little bit in the coming period.

“We don’t want to be pigeonholed into playing in a certain team structure.”

Test captain Pat Cummins will miss the series and the ensuing against New Zealand as he takes a breather ahead of the Twenty20 World Cup and a busy summer at home.

Zimbabwe has not played Australia in the 50-over format since 2014 and is missing several key players, including injured captain Craig Ervine, opening bowler Tendai Chatara and spinner Wellington Masakadza.

See also  Cuttack hosts Legends League Cricket final on October 5 | Cricket News

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (capt), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.


Zimbabwe squad: Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva (capt), Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Seandar Raza .

(This story was not edited by The Switzerland Times staff and was generated automatically Platforms.)

Topics mentioned in this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here