Bypolls To 3 Lok Sabha, 7 Assembly Seats Today: 5 Updates


Two of the three seats of the Lok Sabha are in Uttar Pradesh. (Representative image)

New Delhi:
Bypolls for three Lok Sabha and seven assembly seats are taking place today in six states. The results of these votes will be announced on Sunday (June 26).

Here are the top 5 updates on this story:

  1. Polls in Azamgarh have been necessitated by the resignation of Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Akhilesh Yadav, who was elected to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly as an MP in elections earlier this year. Rampur’s seat was vacated by Samajwadi party leader Azam Khan who was also elected to the state assembly.

  2. Bypoll in Sangrur, Punjab was called up after Bhagwant Mann left the seat after winning assembly elections. He is currently the Chief Minister of the State.

  3. One of the seven assembly seats where the by-elections will be held is Rajinder Nagar in Delhi, vacated by AAP’s Raghav Chadha who recently became a member of Rajya Sabha.

  4. Other assembly seats where bypolls will take place are Mandar in Jharkhand, Atmakur in Andhra Pradesh and Agartala, Town Bordowali, Surma and Jubarajnagar in Tripura.

  5. The bypolls will help the poll panel to fill the vacancies in the electoral collage which elects the President of India. The presidential election could take place in July.

See also  Les morts mystérieuses d'officiers iraniens sondées dans un contexte de tensions croissantes avec Israël



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here