England 2022 World Cup squad: When will Gareth Southgate announce his squad list for Qatar?


Crystal Palace’s Eberechi Eze and Michael Olise have choices to make over which country to represent at international level, but are certainly exciting.

Everton defender Ben Godfrey could have an outside chance if he has better luck with injury.

There will be calls for Leicester City’s James Maddison to be given a second chance after an impressive league season. Marcus Rashford was once one of Southgate’s trusted players but needs to get back into shape.

Morgan Gibbs-White, Jacob Ramsey and Tariq Lamptey will likely face too much competition. Lamptey is said to be evaluating an offer from Ghana.

See also  Boris Johnson resists pressure to cut taxes as economy slides into recession

How many players are England allowed to take?

World Cup squads will drop from 23 players to 26 as part of new measures introduced by Fifa to alleviate potential fatigue issues at this year’s tournament.

The world governing body has decided to increase the squad limit for the first time in the modern era so that managers can choose from a greater number of players to potentially reduce player load and minimize the risk of injury. This team must be named by the managers by November 13, eight days before the start of the tournament.

See also  'Kidnapped' Ukrainians used as 'cannon fodder' by Russia against own country

The provisional list of players will be submitted by managers by then – national associations can name 55 players on their long list which will then be reduced at a later date. There will be a limit of 26 people allowed to sit on the benches for games. This will include the 15 substitutes and 11 team officials, one of whom must be the team doctor.

See also  Latest train strike: Commuters brace for more carnage as railway workers leave

What was England’s team at the last World Cup?

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford, Jack Butland, Nick Pope

Defenders: Kyle Walker, Trent-Alexander Arnold Kieran Trippier, John Stones, Harry Maguire, Gary Cahill, Phil Jones, Danny Rose, Ashley Young

Midfielders: Jordan Henderson, Eric Dier, Fabian Delph, Dele Alli, Jesse Lingard, Ruben Loftus-Cheek

Forwards: Harry Kane, Raheem Sterling, Danny Welbeck, Marcus Rashford



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here